Texas Employment Death and Burial Benefits
School & Work
Here, learn how you may be able to access death and burial benefits if a loved one dies because of a work-related injury or illness.
The information in this article was written by the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI).
Revised by TexasLawHelp on February 24, 2023.
What are death benefits?
Death benefits help families replace some of the money lost when an employee dies because of a work-related injury or illness.
When do death benefits begin and end?
A legal beneficiary is able to get death benefits beginning the day after the employee's death. Death benefits are paid until the beneficiary no longer meets the requirements.
Who can death benefits be paid to?
Death benefits may be paid to:
a surviving spouse,
children less than 25 years old who are enrolled in an accredited college or university,
other dependent family members, or
non-dependent parents (but only when there are no surviving eligible dependent family members).
How long can I receive death benefits?
A surviving spouse can get death benefits for the rest of their life, unless they remarry. If there are dependent children when the employee dies, the children get half the benefits, and the spouse gets the other half.
A surviving spouse who remarries will get a lump sum payment equal to two years of benefits. If there are dependent children who still qualify for the death benefit after those two years, the entire benefit will be divided equally among the dependent children (if there is more than one child).
A surviving spouse of a first responder (as defined by Texas law) who remarries is still able to get death benefits for the rest of their life. The lump-sum payment does not apply to a surviving spouse of a first responder, and the surviving spouse’s benefits are not affected if they remarry.
A child can get death benefits up to age 18; or until age 25 if the child is enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited college or university. If there is more than one eligible child, benefits are re-distributed equally among the remaining eligible children when one or more are no longer eligible. Children 18 or older must show proof of enrollment to remain eligible.
A child with physical or mental disability who is a dependent on the date the employee died may get death benefits until the child dies or no longer has the disability. The custodian of an eligible child with a physical or mental disability must provide the insurance carrier with proof of the disability for the rest of the child’s life.
An adult child who is a dependent of the deceased employee for a reason other than physical or mental disability may be able to get death benefits for 364 weeks after the death of the employee. An eligible adult child claiming death benefits must provide proof, such as medical records, to continue to get benefits.
Grandchildren may be able to get death benefits if they were at least 20% dependent on the employee at the time of death, unless the grandchild's parent is eligible for the benefit. An eligible grandchild can get death benefits until age 18. A grandchild who is eligible for death benefits and who is not a minor at the time of the employee's death, is able to get no more than 364 weeks of death benefits.
Other dependent family members, such as a dependent parent, stepparent, sibling, or grandparent of the deceased employee, may also be able to get death benefits, but only if there is no eligible surviving spouse, child, or grandchild. The time limit on benefits is 364 weeks.
Non-dependent parents may qualify as eligible beneficiaries if there is no eligible surviving spouse, child or grandchild, and there are no surviving dependents who are parents, siblings, or grandparents of the deceased. Those benefits are limited to 104 weeks.
If there are no eligible beneficiaries, or the current beneficiaries are no longer eligible and the insurance carrier has not paid at least 364 weeks of benefits, remaining benefits are paid to the Subsequent Injury Fund, administered by the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDI-DWC).
How do I file a claim for death benefits?
To file a claim, a beneficiary must submit a Beneficiary Claim for Death Benefits to TDI-DWC within one year of the employee's death.
After one year, you can only get death benefits if:
• You are requesting benefits for someone 17 or younger.
• You are requesting benefits for a person who is not competent or able to request benefits.
• You can show that you had a good reason for not requesting benefits earlier.
What documents do I need to submit with the claim form?
You must send in a Beneficiary Claim for Death Benefits form, a copy of the death certificate, and documents to show how each person requesting benefits is related to the person who died. Examples: certified copy of a marriage license, birth certificate, adoption decree, divorce decree, or related court orders.
• Fax the form and documents to TDI-DWC at (512) 804-4378; or
• Mail the form and documents to:
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation
PO Box 12050
Austin, Texas 78711
How much are death benefits?
Death benefits are 75% of the deceased employee's average weekly wage. There are maximum and minimum benefit limits.
Are burial benefits available?
Yes, benefits may be available for burial expenses. They are paid to the person who paid for the burial expenses.
The person who has the expenses must contact the insurance carrier in writing within twelve months of the date of death and attach copies of all related bills.
Once the insurance carrier gets a request to pay these expenses, they have seven calendar days to act.
If burial benefits are approved, the insurance carrier issues a check for reimbursement for burial expenses. The amount someone could get depends on the date the injury happened:
Before September 1, 1999 – expenses paid up to $2,500;
On or after September 1, 1999 and before September 1, 2015 – expenses paid up to $6,000; and
On or after September 1, 2015 – expenses paid up to $10,000.
If burial expenses are denied, the insurance carrier sends a letter to TDI-DWC and to the person who asked for reimbursement explaining the denial.
What can I do if death or burial benefits are denied?
Anyone involved in the claim can ask for dispute resolution by submitting a Request for a Benefit Review Conference.
For more information, call 800-252-7031, Option 1.
To learn more about death and burial benefits, visit the Death and Burial Benefits page, provided by TDI.
Veteran Dependents and Survivor BenefitsThis article provides an overview of a variety of U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) benefits available to spouses, and children of serviceme...
Workers' Compensation in TexasThis article explains workers’ compensation in Texas.
Texas Probate Passport: Wills, Estates, Power of Attorney, and ProbateUnderstand laws about what happens to your property after you die.