I want to change my name.
I want to change my name.
This toolkit tells you how to change your name. FORMS ARE INCLUDED.
You can use the forms in this toolkit to ask a court to change your name if:
- You are at least 18 years old.
- You file a petition asking for a name change in the Texas county where you live.
- You provide the court with complete information about all felonies and Class A or B misdemeanors with which you have been charged.
- You have either:
- Never been convicted of a felony. or
- If you have been convicted of a felony, you provide proof that you were either pardoned or it has been at least two years since you were discharged from prison or completed probation.
- You are either:
- Not required to register as a sex offender. or
- If you are required to register as a sex offender, you provide proof that you notified your local law enforcement authority that you are asking the court to change your name.
Read the Frequently Asked Questions for additional information. If you want to change your name, use the Instructions and Forms below. The Instructions tell you the steps to follow.
For all Instructions and Forms combined, click here.
- Use our Legal Help Finder tool to search for legal help in your area.
- Check our Legal Clinic Calendar to see if there is an upcoming legal clinic near you.
- Use Ask a Question to chat online with a lawyer or law student.
WARNING! The information and forms in this toolkit are not legal advice and are not a substitute for the help of a lawyer. It’s a good idea to talk with a lawyer about your particular situation.
You will usually need a court order to change your name.
If you were recently married, you may be able to change your last name to your spouse’s last name without a court order by providing proof of your marriage to the social security office and driver’s license office. See How to Change Information on Your Driver License or ID Card and How do I change or correct my name on my Social Security number card?
If you need a court order, you can use the forms in this toolkit.
No. You must be at least 18 years old to use these forms. If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian can ask the court to change your name using the forms found in this toolkit: I want to change my child’s name.
The court filing fee may be between $150 - $300 depending on where you live. Contact the district clerk’s office in your county to learn the filing fee for an adult name change. If you have a low-income, you can ask the Court to waive the filing fee by filing a Statement of Inability to Afford Payment of Court Costs form. Learn more here: Court Fees and Fee Waivers.
You must also pay to be fingerprinted and, in some counties, pay for a criminal background check.
You may be able to correct the spelling of your name without going to court. Contact the Texas Vital Statistics Unit to discuss your situation. If you need a court order, you can use the forms in this toolkit.
You will probably need a court order to change your name from the name currently on your birth certificate to the name you have always used. You can contact the Texas Vital Statistics Unit to discuss your situation. If you need a court order, you can use the forms in this toolkit.
If the court ordered your name changed in your Final Decree of Divorce, your name is changed. However, it is your responsibility to have your official documents (such as your social security card and driver’s license or state identification card) changed to show your new name.
If the court did not order your name changed in your Final Decree of Divorce, your name is not changed.