Abortion in Texas: Your Rights
Abortion is legal in Texas, but the law is constantly changing. TexasLawHelp staff has gathered information so you can better understand your abortion rights in Texas.
All text below excerpted from June 29, 2016 Houston Chronicle Article:
The U.S. Supreme Court on Monday (June 27, 2016 - Whole Woman's Health v. Hellerstedt) nixed parts of Texas' abortion regulations because they placed "undue burden" on women seeking the procedure.
Now certain restrictions will be lifted. Abortion clinics will no longer have to meet facility standards of hospital surgical centers, and clinic physicians won't need admitting privileges at nearby hospitals.
"We have a few less hoops to jump through now that HB2 was struck down," said Kathy Kleinfeld, spokeswoman for the Houston Women's Clinic.
So how has the burden changed for Texas women who want to terminate a pregnancy? What must be done to get an abortion in the state now that the Supreme Court has ruled on HB2?
Laws still mandate a process for women to follow, but the top challenge that abortion rights advocated highlighted was finding a clinic. The 2013 state law stuck down by the Supreme Court enacted restrictions that many state abortion clinics couldn't afford to meet—things like separate air conditioning systems and one-way traffic through operating rooms, wider hallways, brighter lights and special physician changing rooms.
As a result, more than half of the state's approximately 40 clinics closed. And the ones that stayed open were mostly in urban centers. That left a lot of rural women with few easy options.
All text below excerpted from Jane's Due Process:
The cost of an abortion varies depending on how far along you are in your pregnancy and which abortion clinic you choose. The average cost of an abortion for minors varies from $400-$500 in the first trimester, and will greatly increase in the second trimester. The earlier you are in your pregnancy, the less expensive the abortion will be.