Texas Free Legal Forms, Law, Pro Bono Help Finder, and Resources

Worker's Compensation in Texas: A Guide for Employees

Authored By: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation
Read this in:
Spanish / Español



From the Linked Resource:

What is Workers' Compensation?

Workers' compensation is a state-regulated insurance program that provides covered employees with income and medical benefits if they sustain a work-related injury or illness. Texas private employers can choose whether or not to provide workers' compensation insurance coverage for their employees. In most cases, your employer is required to notify you whether or not they provide coverage.

Workers' compensation pays your medical bills and replaces a portion of your lost wages if: you are injured at work or have a work-related illness; and your employer has workers' compensation insurance coverage under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act, Title 5, Subtitle A, Labor Code.


Click Here for more General Information on Worker's Compensation

From Linked Resource:

I've been injured on the job, what should I do?

  • You must report your injury to your employer within 30 days from the date of the injury, or from the date you knew your injury or illness was related to your job. If you do not notify your employer within these 30 days, your right to obtain benefits could be lost.

  • You must send a completed Employee's Claim for Compensation for a Work-Related Injury or Occupational Disease (DWC Form-041) to the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (TDI-DWC) within one (1) year of the date of injury to protect your rights.

  • For more information please see the Injured Worker Rights and Responsibilities or call Customer Assistance at 1-800-252-7031

Click HERE for more information on what to do if you have been injured on the job and HOW to file a claim.

My Employer Does Not Have Worker's Compensation Insurance Coverage. What does that mean for me?

From Linked Resource:

Subscribing to workers' compensation insurance puts a limit on the amount and type of compensation that an injured employee may receive - the limits are set in the law. Being a "non-subscriber", i.e., going "bare" or without coverage, leaves an employer open to personal injury lawsuits from employees who are injured on the job - the damages and attorney's fees are almost unlimited - in addition, certain defenses available in most personal injury lawsuits, such as assumption of the risk, contributory negligence, "last clear chance", and co-worker negligence, are not available to a non-subscriber in a job injury case.

Please Click Here for more information on non covered Employers 

Please Click HERE for more information from the Texas Department of Insurance


Where Can I Get More Help?

From Linked Resource:

 If you are an  injured employee in Texas, you have the right to free assistance from the Office of Injured Employee Counsel (OIEC). This assistance is offered at local offices across the State. These local offices also provide other workers’ compensation system services from the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI). TDI is the State agency that administers and regulates the workers’ compensation system through the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). Many services provided by OIEC and DWC can be completed over the telephone. You can contact OIEC by calling the toll-free telephone number 1-866-EZE-OIEC (1-866-393-6432). Additional information, including office locations, is available on the Internet at: www.oiec.texas.gov. You can contact DWC by calling the toll-free telephone number 1-800- 252-7031. Information about DWC is available on the Internet at: www.tdi.texas.gov. 

CLICK HERE for more information on your rights as an injured employee in Texas. 

Last Review and Update: Jan 18, 2016